Skip to main content

HomeAbout Us

About Us


Niskayuna Neighbors Network (NNN) was conceived as a neighborhood village in 2019. Throughout 2019 several public forums were held to generate community interest.  A Steering Committee of Niskayuna residents was formed and from there a Board of Directors.  From March 2020 through mid-2021, the COVID-19 pandemic prevented any public forums or in person recruitment of members or volunteers. However, the Board of Directors continued to meet monthly to complete the many tasks necessary to incorporate as a 501(c) (3) non-profit, tax exempt organization. Board members participated in various trainings focused on service delivery as well as the management aspects of running an all-volunteer village.

In January 2021, NNN began programming of two monthly virtual groups. During the summer of 2021, NNN resumed in-person events in the community and began the recruitment of members and volunteers. 


We have worked hard to get this organization started; however, we know that it will be our members and volunteers who will shape our future and bring this grassroots organization to its full potential.   We are committed to making our Village a success. We encourage all community members to get involved in NNN as much as possible as a way to increase your social network as well as helping to make sure services that you may be looking for – now or later in your life - are in place.  Many voices and hands are needed to plan various events and provide volunteer services to enrich the lives of members of our community. 

We are indebted to the Albany Guardian Society and the Niskayuna Community Foundation General Fund of the Greater Capital Region for the financial assistance to get our Village started.  The technical assistance and mentoring that we received from the national Village to Village Network as well as the Capital Region Village Collaborative has greatly expanded our understanding of what’s involved in trying to bring this exciting venture into fruition. 

BOARD OFFICERS                                                 DIRECTORS

Mary Delory, President                                             Jane Brand 

Judith Rabig, Vice-President                                    Moe Brand

Jenny Overeynder, Treasurer                                   Yvette Gebell

Sue Penny, Secretary